Still sick… but need to catch up on some work… Screen Resolution Change on VM

Finally.. starting to feel a little better from being so sick… At least I can sit up now without having the feeling that things are going to come upwards and outwards… (sorry if that was too much detail..)

Well, so now back to work. I got to choose a project last week that I want to tackle on for the rest of the semester but I still want to catch up on some other things first.

But before anything, I had to find a way to change the screen resolution on Fedora that was installed on my VirtualBox. For some reason, the largest resolution was 800×600! It was killing me! It was so hard to work on!! Just the terminal took up like the whole screen already! For your information, I installed Fedora 13 (32-bit) on VirtualBox 3.2.8. I will refer to VirtualBox as VB for the rest of this blog.

I did some research and found a site that explained why and how to get a larger screen resolution for Linux on VB. If you’re using VB and also having the same problem, click here to see the instructions. However, if you want to just quickly fix it without reading a lot, I’ve included the instructions and steps below that I took to get what I wanted.

First, boot up Fedora (as you already know, 800×600 is the largest resolution you got!).

Now there is a CD/DVD image with VB extras that comes with VB when you install it. Mount it by selecting Devices –> Install Guest Additions… at the top of the VB window (the one with Fedora running).

Once it’s mounted, you should see the “CD” on your desktop. If not, make sure that VBoxGuestAdditions.iso is checked when you go to Device –> CD/DVD Devices.

Now open up the terminal and do the following steps as root.

Copy the required file from the CD image to the home directory (~):
cp /media/VBOXADDITIONS_3.2.8_64453/VBoxLinuxAdditions-x86.run ~

Update the kernel build and header with yum. Also, install the “dkms” package. You should already have “gcc” installed as well. If not, then that needs to be installed.
yum install kernel-devel kernel-headers dkms gcc

Once those packages are installed/updated, you can run the file that was copied to your root’s home directory
~/VBoxLinuxAdditions-x86.run

Once the installation has been complete, reboot your machine and when it boots up, you will see that VB will now load Fedora with the screen resolution of 1024×768. If you want a higher resolution (like me), then you will have to edit the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file. The following is the content of my xorg.conf file. Your file should look 90% the same. The only thing extra that I have is the line where I specified what resolutions I wanted. I have bolded it below.

Contents of xorg.conf file:
# VirtualBox generated configuration file
# based on /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

Section “Monitor”
Identifier   “Monitor[0]“
ModelName    “VirtualBox Virtual Output”
VendorName   “Sun Microsystems Inc”
EndSection

Section “Device”
BoardName    “VirtualBox Graphics”
Driver       “vboxvideo”
Identifier   “Device[0]“
VendorName   “Sun Microsystems Inc”
EndSection

Section “Screen”
SubSection “Display”
Depth      24
Modes      “1440×900″ “1280×864″ “1152×864″ “1024×768″ “800×600″ “640×480″
EndSubSection
Device       “Device[0]“
Identifier   “Screen[0]“
Monitor      “Monitor[0]“
EndSection

That’s it! If you reboot again, it should load up to your highest resolution (or the first one you specifed in the file). For me, it loaded up to 1440×900.

Hope this helped those that were frustrated about the screen resolution like me!!

Now back to catching up… still need to finish SRPM rebuild and SPEC file creation. Need to start creating the project page also! So much for a long weekend….

About vanjason

Currently studying at Seneca College in the CTY Coop Program. Currently in my 6th (last) semester.
This entry was posted in SBR600. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Still sick… but need to catch up on some work… Screen Resolution Change on VM

  1. Andrew says:

    Thanks!! The 800×600 resolution was annoying but I never bothered to do anything about it lol. This works perfect and allows me to use the VM in fullscreen the way it was meant to be used!

  2. Pingback: Setup FUNC Project | Jason Van's Blog

  3. Allan Denial says:

    Thanks Jason. Your screen resolution change on VM worked great. I’m using Fedora 13 32bit and VM 3.2.12 r68302 and my host machine is XP 32 bit. You did a great job, easy to follow and implement. I’m new to VM, so I’m still learning how to use it. I like VM its works really well for me. Thanks again,

    -Allan

Leave a Reply

